Author Topic: Piv 5.9 Malaise  (Read 3029 times)

Offline Dean Wooldridge, Jr.

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 494
  • Karma: +9/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Piv 5.9 Malaise
« on: May 01, 2009, 04:25:50 PM »
Malaise is probably a good word to describe our world after the 5.7 to 5.9 upgrade.  All sorts of bizarre issues along with the usual raft of Pivotal induced annoyances.

For some very strange reason we cannot save a support incident created from the eTAB.  If we create from say the company form by clicking on the "+" on a support_incident segment then all is well.  I'm short on diagnostics because it appears to be off in Pivotal land.  The error that pops-up talks about being in the BottomButtonClick routine and I think that is somewhere in core Pivotal code.  The issue has been in India (along with my BM & ED) for two weeks.

This new AA form fields can span columns is acting very strange.  Primary segment is setup for 4 columns.  Two fields one of which is span 1 EM 15 and the other is SPAN 2 EM 30.  Active Access shows this with a gap between the two fields and I would have expected them to be right next to each other.  Pivotal says they cannot reproduce this issue.

We have a support step AA form open.  Click "Complete" and choose the next action.  Pivotal complains it cannot save the step (and it does not) then it proceeds to open the new step.  The user enters data, clicks SAVE and that step is saved.

Both the development LCS environment and production LCS environment exhibit the same behavior so I don't think I missed anything during the software install.

And finally to add insult it doesn't look like Pivotal did much in the way of documenting any of the new features.  For example there is the search results list segment on the AA form.  I got it to work and the query that is used depends upon a field on the AA form.  When that field value changes it does not appear that the SRL segment refreshes - the old data is still there and now useless.  Is there some type of "On" event or code that needs to be added to the client script to catch the field change and trigger a refresh of the segment?

Sigh......long two weeks.

Offline PivotalTim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 164
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
    • xemware
Re: Piv 5.9 Malaise
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2009, 09:20:38 PM »
The SRL segment works the same as the filter on a standard Secondary i.e. is only applied when the form loads/reloads. 
It could be rather painful to have a SRL refresh every time a primary field value changes.  It would have been nice for Pivotal
to add a 'auto refresh' option on a SRL when a filter parameter changes, but I could say the same for lots of little things they could
have done (and frankly seems damn obvious to me that should have been done years ago).

If you want something dynamic you would need to dynamically populate a Secondary as the primary field changes.  I've done it,
works ok.  Alternatively, don't display the SRL on the main form but instead get user to click a button when they've changed the primary
field value - much leaner on database usage as well. 

Field layout in Pivotal is super dumb, the gap also depends on the current size of the form i.e. resize a form and watch the fields get closer.





Tim Shnaider
xemware limited
http://www.xemware.com

Looksie - Prototyping Covered!
http://www.looksie.me

Offline Dean Wooldridge, Jr.

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 494
  • Karma: +9/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Piv 5.9 Malaise
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2009, 12:09:18 PM »
Yea, you're right.  thanks.