Author Topic: Change .NET version  (Read 1240 times)

Offline Misiu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 82
  • Karma: +0/-1
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Change .NET version
« on: May 31, 2016, 12:38:00 PM »
Hi all,
I've noticed that forum is bit deserted lately, but maybe some Pivotal Gurus will be able to help me.
I'm developing all my code behind (ClientTask, ServerTasks etc) using .NET 4.0, but besides Pivotal I'm developing mostly in .NET 4.5 and 4.6.
Is it possible to use those versions in Pivotal 6? Generally I'd like to use async/await (I'm aware of Microsoft.BLC.Async on Nuget).

I know that Pivotal 6 is old right now, but maybe this is somehow possible  :)

Offline riaanmas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Change .NET version
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2016, 09:47:39 AM »
Hi,

I have not tried it but I as long as the Dot Net Framework on the Server is installed for your version it should support 4.5 and 4.6. Your custom code references the earlier versions of the dot net library so you should be fine - other way around and it would not work.

Let me know if you tried it and if it worked please.

riaan mastenbroek

Offline Misiu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 82
  • Karma: +0/-1
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Change .NET version
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2016, 09:59:04 PM »
Thank You for reply.
I'd like to use .NET 4.5 features mostly on client side (FormTasks, CommandHandler).
Have You tried something similar before?

Offline CarlC

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 267
  • Karma: +28/-5
    • View Profile
Re: Change .NET version
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2016, 02:36:02 AM »
There is a knowledge base article, 28081, which states you can use VS2015, but compile to .NET4 CLR. Sorry, cant do 4.5

Offline Misiu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 82
  • Karma: +0/-1
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Change .NET version
« Reply #4 on: June 02, 2016, 02:40:44 AM »
@CarlC sadly I don't have access to KB (do You know how I can get it?), but thank You for confirmation.
It looks like standard desktop client is slowly going away.

Offline CarlC

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 267
  • Karma: +28/-5
    • View Profile
Re: Change .NET version
« Reply #5 on: June 02, 2016, 06:30:52 AM »
You'll have to ask your account manager for access, should be part of the support offering

Offline Misiu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 82
  • Karma: +0/-1
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Change .NET version
« Reply #6 on: October 09, 2018, 03:32:14 AM »
@CarlC did something change in Pivotal 6.6?
I'd like to know more about supported CLR version. Is it still .NET4?