Author Topic: Upgrade 5.1 --> 5.7  (Read 3019 times)

Offline dounax

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Upgrade 5.1 --> 5.7
« on: April 21, 2008, 02:48:12 AM »
Hi,

I have a question to upgrade our BM 5.1 to 5.7.

I am following the documentation Upgrade_r57_CMS.pdf and I am not sure on wich system I must perform it.

In the documentation they talk about three type of system:
- Current system
- Base system
- New System

I am not very sure to understand which are these systems. Can you help me?

Offline Sumit Sinha

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 110
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Cognizant Technology Solutions
Re: Upgrade 5.1 --> 5.7
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2008, 04:43:24 AM »
Hi,

In short,

Current System : Your 5.1 version

New System : Your 5.7 version

Base System : A version in between these two which contain functionality of both.

i.e. if upgrading from r99 to 5.9, then Current System is r99, New system is 5.7 and the Base system should be 3.1.

This is from my point of understanding, and also when Pivotal upgrades, then they use all the versions in between. i.e when upgrading from r99 to 5.9, their path will be r99 - 2.0 - 3.1 - 5.1 - 5.7 and so on.

So in upgrading from 5.1. to 5.7, i am still not very sure if these is a Pivotal version in between to become a base system. ???
« Last Edit: April 21, 2008, 04:45:26 AM by Sumit Sinha »
With Regards,
Sumit Sinha
Cognizant Technology Solutions

Offline CarlC

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 267
  • Karma: +28/-5
    • View Profile
Re: Upgrade 5.1 --> 5.7
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2008, 06:24:36 AM »
Current System - Your 5.1 system, which I assume you have customised
New System - The OOB CMS 5.7 system - where you want to get to
Base System - The OOB CMS 5.1 system - where you started.

This will allow the upgrade process to know what is base functionality (stuff that it can easily migrate to 5.7, as you have not changed it) and current system (stuff you have altered, which it will have to ask you whether you want to upgrade to the new version or keep your customisations)

Offline Dean Wooldridge, Jr.

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 494
  • Karma: +9/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Upgrade 5.1 --> 5.7
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2008, 08:22:46 AM »
And I believe Pivotal provides you with a BASE system in the upgrade materials.

Offline pivotalnd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Upgrade 5.1 --> 5.7
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2008, 07:43:19 PM »
There is an upgrade kit that is amde available for download on the eservice site. this would be helpful.
Regards,
Pivotalnd.