Poll

Who is getting the $100 Amazon.com coupon?

Identify companies that form a loop (shicklin)
3 (75%)
Unable to get form data (RLD_developer)
0 (0%)
Force a prompt with only one exit on it (CougarSoftware)
1 (25%)

Total Members Voted: 4

Voting closed: January 27, 2007, 05:05:36 PM

Author Topic: Most Tricky Issue Contest - Win the Prize!  (Read 9090 times)

Offline Rus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 122
  • Karma: +0/-1
    • View Profile
Most Tricky Issue Contest - Win the Prize!
« on: April 28, 2006, 05:51:15 AM »
It's been a couple of weeks since Pivotal CRM Forum was launched and now we seem to have a few members in our community.

To encourage knowledge exchange and introduce our members to each other we announce the Most Tricky Issue Contest.

Members are invited to describe tricky issues they struggled with for others to propose solutions.

As soon as we have enough issues to choose from we will start a poll to decide on the trickiest issue.

The winner will get the prize - a $100 gift certificate from Amazon.com!
« Last Edit: December 13, 2006, 05:05:12 PM by Russ »
One Stop Shop Pivotal CRM Support and Development Service

http://www.pivotalcrmsupport.com

Offline shicklin

  • Global Moderator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Most Tricky Issue Contest - Win the Prize!
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2006, 05:40:03 AM »
Problem:
Need to identify companies that form a loop using the Parent Company Field.

e.g.  Company A links to Company B, Company B links to Company C, Company C links to Company X, Company X links to Company A

How to identify Company A when there could be x links in the chain


Offline RLD_developer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Most Tricky Issue Contest - Win the Prize!
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2006, 08:28:48 AM »
Hello, the Amazon voucher is as good as mine!! (here goes...)

We are currently running Pivtotal cms version 3.0 (our system has been customised that much we cannot get enough down time to upgrade to 5.7).  I make a call via an Active Form call / Appserver rule to a VB dll that connects to the ED via an Active Access connection (we are running WA).  the dll forces a new record to be added via an active form and returns the ID generated. 

The reason the record is added via the dll is because it is also used for our web site and this was data integrity is maintained as there is only one method to create a new booking record.  The problem is that the instantiated user and the middle teir logged in user both has permission to the table / everything and when the AA form is attempted to open "unable to get form data" error message is returned - does anyone know why / have you encountered anything like this in the past?

Any help would be greatly appreciated as this functionality is supposed to be released next Thursday (1/6/06)...  ??? ???

Offline CougarSoftware

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Most Tricky Issue Contest - Win the Prize!
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2006, 11:24:44 AM »
In windows access, how do you force a prompt with only one exit on it (i.e. an "OK"-only prompt) to pop up and _stay_ on top of the form? It appears that if the prompt only has one exit point, the agent proceeds to execute past the prompt, and often the form is brought into focus in front of the prompt. Needless to say, this introduces quite a bit of confusion, especially with not very technically savvy users.

Offline jaybee

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 125
  • Karma: +12/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Up the irons !
    • View Profile
Re: Most Tricky Issue Contest - Win the Prize!
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2006, 04:50:49 AM »
In windows access, how do you force a prompt with only one exit on it (i.e. an "OK"-only prompt) to pop up and _stay_ on top of the form? It appears that if the prompt only has one exit point, the agent proceeds to execute past the prompt, and often the form is brought into focus in front of the prompt. Needless to say, this introduces quite a bit of confusion, especially with not very technically savvy users.

The only way to get a modal prompt is to use a form with a text field (ie txt_message) where you can dynamically move your prompt message.
With a Pivotal Agent , define the Setfocus command on exit of this text field.
Call your process. Then use a close with no warning command to close your fake prompt.

Hope this helps....
Jérôme BERGES
Carmis
France

Offline Rus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 122
  • Karma: +0/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Most Tricky Issue Contest - Win the Prize!
« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2007, 12:59:58 PM »
The poll is now closed and the winner is Steve Hicklin.

Attached is the picture of Steve receiving the award.

Well done Steve!

Will you please post the solution?
« Last Edit: February 12, 2007, 01:05:42 PM by Russ »
One Stop Shop Pivotal CRM Support and Development Service

http://www.pivotalcrmsupport.com

Offline kwiecin

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 84
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Pivotal CRM Blog
Re: Most Tricky Issue Contest - Win the Prize!
« Reply #6 on: February 14, 2007, 07:21:58 AM »
Congratulations Steve!!!
Marcin Kwiecinski
CRM || ITIL Consultant
Microsoft Certified Professional
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Pivotal CRM Blog - Your everyday Pivotal Web Toolkit
www.pivotalcrm.info

Offline tdelios

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Most Tricky Issue Contest - Win the Prize!
« Reply #7 on: July 31, 2009, 09:15:19 PM »
In windows access, how do you force a prompt with only one exit on it (i.e. an "OK"-only prompt) to pop up and _stay_ on top of the form? It appears that if the prompt only has one exit point, the agent proceeds to execute past the prompt, and often the form is brought into focus in front of the prompt. Needless to say, this introduces quite a bit of confusion, especially with not very technically savvy users.

if you have the shortcut of the form component BEFORE the prompt component, then the situation that you mentioned will occur..  the agent will sit there and pause until the 'ok' button on the prompt has been clicked.  The only time I see this as a problem is either the prompt was on the screen, but the user has clicked on something else to hide the prompt in the background..  I have also seen that agents 'call' other agents and not realize it that caused something else to be invoked before the prompt component was hit.